How do I stop copying someone?
Last updated: 12 August 2026
There are two different options to stop copying an investor:
- Stop Copy and Close All: When you choose this option, you sell all the positions in the copy, and all the funds move to your ’Cash Available’ balance.
- Stop Copy and Keep All: This option allows you to remove the positions from a copy and place them directly in your portfolio, even when the market is closed. Only uninvested funds held in the copy will move to your ’Cash Available’ balance.
To stop copying someone:
- Go to your Portfolio here (or from the etoro app, tap Portfolio at the bottom of the screen; from the web version of etoro, click Portfolio in the sidebar to see all the instruments you are currently trading).
- Click on the trader you wish to stop copying.
- Click on the
next to the selected trader. - Select ’Stop copying’ from the menu.
- On the new screen, click on Close All to fully stop copying, or Keep All to keep the copied trades in your main portfolio.
- Select ’Confirm’.
Note: If you choose to keep your copied positions, they will convert into manual trades. Any stock position that becomes a manual trade will incur a commission fee when you close it.
Was this article helpful?
Still need help?
We're happy to assist you, whenever you need us. Choose your preferred method of contact.
Related articles
copy-trading
Are Smart Portfolios a long or short-term investment?
copy-trading
Are fees charged to close a Smart Portfolio?
copy-trading
Are there any fees related to CopyTrader?
copy-trading
Can I add funds to my Smart Portfolio?
copy-trading
Can I close individual positions within the Smart Portfolio?
copy-trading